Tumke Bagra elected Dy Speaker

Tumke Bagra elected Dy Speaker

ITANAGAR, Mar 22: BJP MLA from Aalo West Assembly Constituency in West Siang district, Tumke Bagra was today ‘unanimously’ elected as Deputy Speaker of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

The Deputy Speaker’s chair had fallen vacant after the incumbent Tenzing Norbu Thongdok had quit the post to be inducted in the Kalikho Pul ministry on March 5 last.

Since there was only one nomination filed in favour of Tumke Bagra which was proposed by his party member Tage Taki and seconded by Tamar Murtem, the BJP MLA was declared elected to the post of Deputy Speaker by Assembly Speaker Wangki Lowang during the second day’s proceedings of four-day Budget session this morning.

Chief Minister Kalikho Pul and Speaker Lowang congratulated Bagra on being elected to the post of Dy Speaker and both of them exuded confidence that he would assist the Speaker in smooth conduct of House proceedings.

Pul pointed that it was for the first time that the post of Dy Speaker went to a political party other than the ruling party and expressed hope that he would maintain the dignity of the Hose by giving equal opportunity to both treasury and opposition benches to actively participate in business of the House.

Deputy Chief Ministers Kameng Dolo & Chowna Mein, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Wanglin Lowangdong, Power Minister T Norbu Thongdok and BJP members like Japu Deru, Tage Taki, Dr Mohesh Chai and Tamar Murtem also felicitated the newly elected Dy Speaker and exuded hope that he would uphold the highest traditions of the Assembly.

Reciprocating the warm felicitations he got, Bagra assured that he would devote himself to uphold the democratic traditions of the House. He also said that he was moved by “magnanimity and kindness” of Kalikho Pul-led PPA government for “honouring” him and his party by giving out the chair of Dy Speaker to BJP – a never before happening in the political history of Arunachal Pradesh.

Bills passed: Among other business, the Assembly also witnessed passing of two important govt Bills namely, ‘The Arunachal Pradesh Tourism (Trade Registration and Regulation) Bill, 2016’ and ‘The Arunachal Pradesh Right to Public Services Bill, 2016’ – which were introduced by Chief Minister Kalikho Pul yesterday – by voice vote after brief deliberations and suggestions by members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *