Disqualification of 14 MLAs Order on Honchun committee report to be pronounced on July 16

ITANAGAR, Jun 10: State Assembly Speaker Wanki Lowang will pronounce his order on Honchun committee report regarding disqualification of 14 MLAs on July 16 next.

The Honchun committee has been constituted by the Speaker following the order of Gauhati High Court issued on April 6 last, on disqualification of the MLAs.

The three-member committee today submitted its final report to the Speaker at Nokmey Namati hall at Naharlagun.

After receiving the report, the Speaker will now commence his proceedings on the petition, filed by Rajesh Tacho (INC) on December 7 last year.

The Speaker has fixed June 28 as oral hearing on the petition and for oral rebuttal on June 29.

The date of filing written submission has been fixed on July 2 and the date of pronouncement of order has been fixed on July 16.

After pronouncement of Speaker’s order on the petition, a copy of the committee’s report and Speaker’s order will be sent to the register of the Gauhati HC within July 18.

The Honchun committee, headed by Honchun Ngandam as chairman comprises Tapang Taloh (INC) and Tage Taki (BJP) as members. Later, the Speaker had appointed Pani Taram (INC) as member of the committee following the resignation of Taloh from his post on May 17.

Former Speaker Nabam Rebia of Congress had disqualified 14 MLAs of his own party on December 15, on the eve of the commencement of the Sixth Session of the Arunachal Pradesh legislative Assembly.

The disqualified members were — Pema Khandu, Kumar Waii, Kameng Dolo, Markio Tado, Jarkar Gamlin, P D Sona, Mutchu Mithi, Kamlung Mossang, Phosum Khimhun, Wanglin Lowangdong, T Wangham, Lombo Tayeng, Kalikho Pul and T N Thongdok.

The Guwahati High court first stayed the disqualification order and finally quashed it on April 6 last. The HC took serious exception to the then Speaker disqualifying the 14 members within one week of filing the petition of disqualification by Rajesh Tacho. (UNI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *