Nirjuli win maiden T20 Cricket Championship

Nirjuli win maiden T20 Cricket Championship

ITANAGAR, Apr 21: Nirjuli Cricket Club defeated SWCC by 36 runs to win the first ever T20 Cricket Championship here today at Indira Gandhi Park.

The tournament was hosted by the Cricket Academy of Arunachal.

After winning the toss, NCC captain Kamsha Yangfo decided to bat first. The top batsmen weren’t able to contribute much and got out early. However, the duo of Sandeep Kumar Thakur and Takar Paza took the charge and made partnership of 70 runs and scored 146 after losing 8 wickets.

Thakur scored the highest 40 runs off 23 balls while Sarfaraz Ahmed, Techi Dorio, Takar Paja, Licha John and Kamsha Yangfo scored 26, 21, 20, 9 and 5 runs respectively.

Nada Kago of SWCC took five wickets, while Mithail took one wicket.

Chasing a target of 147, SWCC batsmen lost wickets too early. At the same time Momor Ori tried his best but no one was there to make a partnership with him. Ori scored 29 while Sonu, Sera, Chintu and Ngurang Tana scored 15, 14, 11 and 9 runs respectively.

NCC bowlers showed their strength and bundled out SWCC for 112 runs in 18 overs.

Takar Paja, Manish Sah, Techi Neri and Licha Tehi took two wickets each while Sandeep Thakur took one wicket, who was awarded man of the match for his brilliant all-round performance.

The winner and runners-up teams were awarded cash prize of Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively, while the MoM got awarded with cash prize of Rs 3000 along with trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *