Vijay Hazare Trophy: Arunachal lose to Nagaland by 6 wickets

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Arunachal lose to Nagaland by 6 wickets

ANAND (Gujarat), Oct 2: Despite amassing an impressive 271/4 on board, Arunachal Pradesh suffered loss in a Vijay Hazare Trophy match to Nagaland by six wickets.

In the match played at Shastri Maidan here today, outstation player KB Pawan, formerly of Karnataka, led Nagaland to their fourth win in seven matches with a 103-ball 112-run knock in chase of 272 against Arunachal.

Put in to bat, Arunachal lost their openers Utsav Pankaj Madan (4) and Techi Doria (4) to pacer Arun Chauhan inside the first five overs before Samarth Seth and Kshitiz Sharma steadied the innings with a stand of 70 for the third wicket. Seth was removed by spinner Abrar Kazi for 32.

But Kshitz found support in Akhilesh Sahani as the duo added 158 runs for the fourth wicket to lead Arunachal to a healthy total of 271 for 4.

In reply, after pacer Sandeep Thakur had removed Nagaland openers Nitesh Lochab (29) and Sedezhalie Rupero (13) with the score of 55, Pawan got together with Rongsen Jonathan (28) for a stand of 72 runs. Jonathan was removed by Kshitiz.

Experienced hand Hokaito Zhimomi then took over as Pawan’s partner and set Nagaland on course for victory combining for 101-run stand for the fourth wicket in 16.2 overs. Pawan departed with Nagaland 42 runs adrift of the target and Zhimomi upped the ante and took his team to victory with an unbeaten 68-ball 72, with six overs to spare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *