Mein-chaired NERPC to hold 24th TCC/ RPC meet at Tawang

ITANAGAR, May 25: Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein on Thursday held a preparatory meeting to discuss the upcoming 24th Technical Coordination Sub-Committee (TCC) and Regional Power Committee (RPC) meeting of the North Eastern Regional Power Committee (NERPC) scheduled to be held at Tawang next month.

“With the end goal of facilitating uninterrupted power supply in our region, we discussed various measures to be taken up in this direction and also identified bottlenecks that need to be addressed,” Mein, who took over the charge of NERPC Chairman recently, stated in a tweet.

After assuming the office of NERPC Chairman, this is the first official meeting chaired by Dy CM Mein. The primary objective of the preparatory meeting was to oversee the preparations for the upcoming TCC and RPC Meeting with the goal of facilitating interrupted power supply in the region and identifying bottlenecks in the process, a statement from the Dy Chief Minister’s office said.

It said, the NERPC comprises 24 constituent members including the seven North Eastern States and hydropower developers. They are responsible for coordinating and managing various aspects of power generation, distribution and consumption within Northeast India.

It is important to note that RPCs play a crucial role in ensuring the reliable and efficient supply of electricity, promoting inter-regional cooperation and addressing issues related to power infrastructure, grid stability, energy planning and policy development.

During the meeting, Superintending Engineer (E), SO & PSC, Nangkong Perme gave a detailed PPT presentation of the program. Today’s meeting was attended by Advisor to Minister (Power), Balo Raja, Advisor to Dy CM, Anupam Tangu, TCC Chairman Ginko Linggi, NERPC Director  S Aimol and SE (Power) T K Tara.

The 24th TCC and RPC meeting of NERPC in Tawang on June 15-16 is expected to be attended by around 100 delegates.