Siang becomes ‘Har Ghar Jal’ certified district

BOLENG, Feb 12: Following the ‘success stories’ of other districts, Siang has also become a ‘Har Ghar Jal’ certified district with the cent percent saturation of Functional Household Tap Connection (FHTC) under Jal Jeevan Mission (JJM).

In this connection, the PHE & WS Division, Pangin in collaboration with the District Administration organized an event for celebration of 100% FHTC saturation here with great pomp and show under the chairmanship of Tajing Jonnom, in-charge DC Siang.

The district has been successful in providing drinking water supply through tap connection to all 4942 rural households of the district.

Addressing the event, local MLA Ojing Tasing spoke on the likelihood of drinking water sources such as rivers, streams and springs being dried up in near future. He emphasized on the need of catchment area protection. He also reiterated the importance of afforestation to rejuvenate the water sources.

Jonnom, in his speech, emphasized on sustainable use of the water supply assets created. He said that the villagers especially the VWSCs (Village Water Sanitation Committees) should take the responsibility of the maintenance of in-village components of the water supply system.

In the event today, the challenges faced and efforts made in the district since the inception of Jal Jeevan Mission were highlighted through a comprehensive PPT.

In addition, Arunachal Pradesh Protection of Drinking Water Catchment Areas Act, 2023 and Operational and Maintenance Policy were also elaborated to the gathering through a PPT.

Further, during the event key contributors- persons or organizations that have contributed with their expertise and experience were recognized and felicitated with commendation certificates.

Felicitations were also done to three best performing VWSCs with mementos, cash prizes and certificates, top-3 women trained in FTK handling were also feted with mementos, cash prizes and certificates, and top-3 field staff with mementos and certificates.

Furthermore, all five ISA Groups of the district were also awarded with commendation certificates.

Among others, HoDs, ADC Pangin, ZPMs, GPCs and former minister Tahung Tatak were also present. (DIPRO)