Phased re-opening of reservation counters in Indian Railways PRS counters in NFR area start functioning

GUWAHATI, May 22: As decided by Indian Railways to open reservation counters (PRS) at stations for booking of reserved tickets in a phased manner, PRS counters have started functioning at various locations throughout NFR depending on requirement, feasibility and local conditions from today. Tickets can also be booked by passengers through authorized agents/sub-agents and also at Common Service Centers (Suvidha Kendras).

Opening of ticket booking counters at stations is an important step towards graded restoration of passenger railway services and making the task of ticket booking easy for all prospective travellers throughout India.

In NFR area, in locations where there are two PRS counters, only one will function. And in locations where more than two counters are in existence, two counters will function.

However, all the PRS counters will operate only in one shift from 08:00 hrs to 14:00 hrs for ticketing purpose.

Refunds against cancellations of tickets will be given at station counters after 25th May only.

Passengers are requested to pay preferably by cards/digital modes or tender exact amount in case the payment is made in cash.

All the PRS counters will function by observing necessary guidelines issued by Railway Board, MHA & respective state govt in regard to social distancing, hygiene protocols etc towards opening of office & public dealing activities in view of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. All the people arriving at PRS counters should also observe all such guidelines for ensuring safety.

In Katihar division of NFR, PRS counters at Katihar, Barsoi, Kishanganj, New Jalpaiguri and at Siliguri Jn will function. In Alipurduar division PRS counters at Dhupguri, New Coach Behar, Hasimara, New Alipurduar and at Alipurduar Jn will function. In Rangiya division PRS counters at New Bongaigaon, Barpeta Road, Nalbari and at Rangiya will function. In Lumding division PRS counters at Kamakhya, Guwahati, Jagiroad, Chaparmukh, Hojai, Lumding, Diphu, Dimapur, Badarpur and Agartala will function. In Tinsukia division PRS counters at Jorhat, Tinsukia, New Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Mariani, Simaluguri and Farkating will function. More PRS counters will become functional in coming days.

It may be recalled that Indian Railways has already announced 200 new time tabled special trains that would be run from 1st June 2020. In NFR area six pairs of such trains have been planned to run. They are -- 02377 / 02378 Sealdah – Alipurduar Padatik Express, 02407 / 02408 Amritsar – New Jalpaiguri Karmabhumi Express, 05484 / 05483 Delhi – Alipurduar  Mahananda Express, 05955 / 05966 Delhi – Dibrugarh Brahmaputra Mail, 05645 / 05646 Guwahati – LTT Express and 02067 / 02068 Guwahati – Jorhat Town Jan Shatabdi Express. Booking of tickets for these trains have already started from May 21.